The history of the Chalet

Originally built in 1887, The Chalet opened to the public in 1888. It was used as a guesthouse for the patrons of Ocean Grove, as well as headquarters for Methodists who resided nearby. It was known by various names including The Coffee Palace, Ocean Grove House, Green Gables, The Chalet and Arkana Lodge.

It provided a capacity for boarding and accommodation for 120 people, with fully furnished, first class rooms available to guests. A large dining space and dining hall provided a setting for fine dining and entertainment.

Guests were able to enjoy indoor activities such as vintage games of bagatelle and billiard (similar to Pool). Reading rooms and smoking rooms were also available.

In the late 1960’s, this historical building was demolished to make way for new housing.

2017 saw the block at 99 The Terrace being bought by Mark LeMaistre from LeMaistre Builders. He and his wife Emily felt great accommodation was missing on the Bellarine and wanted to provide it.

After having designed the plans himself, Mark took them to the City Of Greater Geelong who in turn loved the idea of beachside accommodation.

Mark and Emily then asked Mark and Wendy Edmonds to join their business venture due to their experience in hospitality and business management.

Plans for building were well underway and it was discovered that the building site was previously the residence of the last known owners of the Ocean Grove Chalet.